News Release: 2019 Los Angeles Greek Film Festival

News Release on Behalf of the Los Angeles Greek Film Festival

2019 Los Angeles Greek Film Festival Red Carpet Closing Night

ORPHEUS Awards Ceremony Honors Valorie Massalas 

The red carpet Closing Night of the 13th Los Angeles Greek Film Festival (LAGFF) was held Sunday, June 9th at the Egyptian Theatre in Hollywood. The West Coast premiere of Nikos Labot’s “HER JOB”, was followed by the Orpheus Awards Ceremony and an elegant reception in the outdoor courtyard of the Egyptian. Guests enjoyed Good Greek Grill, Georgos Wine, Pietris Bakery, Bakersland, and Sugarista and danced to Dimitris Mann & The Greek Rebetiko Trio.

Some of the members
of the LAGFF Festival Team
(Photo Credit: Steve Sasaki
Urbanite Media).

Festival Director Aris Katopodis opened the ceremony with a warm welcome to guests that included filmmakers, industry professionals, Greek VIPS and dignitaries. The Awards were co-hosted by popular actresses Patricia Kara and Elena Evangelo. 

Filmmakers Brunch – with
Actress Patricia Kara, The
Honorable Consul General of
Greece, Evgenia Beniatoglou
and Aris Katopodis (Photo
Credit: Steve Sasaki + Urbanite

Emmy-nominated casting director and producer, Valorie Massalas was the 2019 Orpheus Award Honoree and received a standing ovation and cheers from the audience.  She is a longtime LAGFF Advisory Board member and co-produced and cast the acclaimed Gods and Monsters, which was nominated for three Oscar Awards.  Award winning actor-dancer and 2018 Orpheus Honoree, George Chakiris presented the Orpheus to Massalas.

(Left to Right) Festival Director Aris Katopodis, 2019 Orpheus
Award Honoree Valorie Massalas, Associate Producer LAGFF Georgia
Tripodes (Photo Credit: Steve Sasaki + Urbanite Media).

A special Tribute Video for Massalas included heartfelt messages from A-list entertainers and friends such as Thaao Penghlis,award-winning casting director- producerRonnie Yeskel, and prominent director Randal Kleiser. The tribute video was directed by Constantinos Isaias.

 “There were so many incredible films and talent this year”, explained Festival Director Aris Katopodis. “Our distinguished jury panel looked at the films very closely. The awards, especially audience ones, were very close.”  Awards presenters were Kelly Vlahakis Hanks, Suniil Sadarangani, Bobby Roth, James Axiotis, David Streit, Panos Vlahos, Ioanna Triantafyllidou, Soudabeh Moradian and George Chakiris.  Several of the presenters also served on the LAGFF Jury.

Greek Rebetiko Trio (Photo Credit: Steve Sasaki + Urbanite Media).

Sponsors were provided gifts from Pylos Poems, Mani Imports, Florapy, and Thrive Market.

LAGFF is a 501 (c)(3) non-profit organization and open to all filmgoers and patrons

of the arts.  The full program and Festival information is available at

Email the author: News Releases

Back to News Releases
Lead Ad

More from News Releases